FORT VERMILION SCHOOL DIVISION MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING OCTOBER 27, 2021

ATTENDANCE Board Members Present:

Mr. Dale Lederer
Mr. Marc Beland
Mr. Shane Lloyd
Mrs. Linda Kowal
Mrs. Amanda Paul
Mr. Henry Goertzen
Mr. Tim Driedger
Mr. Benjamin Friesen
Mr. John Zacharias

Administration Present:

Mr. Michael McMann, Superintendent

Mr. Scot Leys, Associate Superintendent of Operations Mrs. Karen Smith, Associate Superintendent of Learning Mr. Norman Buhler, Associate Superintendent of Finance

Mrs. Darlene Bergen, Executive Assistant

Mrs. Chandra Tincombe, Public Relations Coordinator

ATA Representative Present:

meeting to order at 9:11 a.m.

Ms. Myrna McLean (VC)

Mr. Boyd Langford, Notary Public

CALL TO ORDER Associate Superintendent of Finance, Norman Buhler, called the

OATH OF OFFICE The Oath of Office was administered to all Trustees.

21-10-16766 ELECTION OF CHAIR Associate Superintendent of Finance, Norman Buhler, called for nominations for the position of Chair of the Fort Vermilion School Division for the period October 27, 2021, to October 2023.

First call: Linda Kowal nominated Marc Beland – Accepted. Second call: Henry Goertzen nominated Tim Driedger – Accepted.

Third call: None.

There being no further nominations, Dale Lederer declared that nominations cease.

Benjamin Friesen moved that the election of Chair for the 2021-2023 term be conducted by secret ballot.

CARRIED

Marc Beland was declared elected as Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Fort Vermilion School Division for the 2021-2023 term.

FORT VERMILION SCHOOL DIVISION MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING OCTOBER 27, 2021

PAGE 2 OF 3

21-10-16767 DESTRUCTION OF BALLOTS Linda Kowal moved that all ballots used for the election of Chair for

the 2021-2023 term be destroyed.

CARRIED

TURNOVER OF CHAIR

The Associate Superintendent of Finance turned over the chair to newly elected Board Chair, Marc Beland.

21-10-16768 ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR Marc Beland, Board Chair, called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Fort Vermilion School Division for the period October 27, 2021 to October 2022.

First call: Benjamin Friesen nominated Tim Driedger. Accepted.

Second call: None. Third call: None.

There being no further nominations, Dale Lederer declared that nominations cease.

Tim Driedger was declared acclaimed as Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Fort Vermilion School Division for the 2021-2022 term.

CARRIED

21-10-16769 ESTABLISHMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES Tim Driedger moved that the following trustees be appointed as representatives on the various associations/councils for the period October 27, 2021 to October 2022.

Alberta School Boards Association Zone 1 – Henry Goertzen Fort Vermilion Community Education Committee – Amanda Paul Negotiation Committee – Tim Driedger and Linda Kowal Teachers' Employer Bargaining Association – Tim Driedger Blue Hills Community Complex – John Zacharias Audit Committee – Dale Lederer and Amanda Paul

Rural Caucus - Benjamin Friesen

CARRIED

21-10-16770 ESTABLISHMENT OF BOARD MEETING DATES Dale Lederer moved that the Board of Trustees establish the Board Meeting dates for the 2021-2022 school year as follows:

September 29, 2021 October 27, 2021 November 24, 2021 January 26, 2022 March 9, 2022 April 13, 2022 May 18, 2022 June 15, 2022

CARRIED

FORT VERMILION SCHOOL DIVISION MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING OCTOBER 27, 2021

PAGE 3 OF 3

21-10-16771 ATB FINANCIAL SIGNING AUTHORITY Benjamin Friesen moved that the Board of Trustees give the following individuals signing authority on ATB Financial accounts with a two to sign requirement:

Michael McMann - Superintendent

Norman Buhler - Associate Superintendent of Finance

Payne Cardinal – Director of Finance

Karen Smith - Associate Superintendent of Learning Scot Leys - Associate Superintendent of Operations

Marc Beland - Board Chair Tim Driedger - Vice Chair

CARRIED

21-10-16772 ADJOURNMENT Marc Beland moved that the organizational meeting be adjourned at 9:41 a.m.

CARRIED

(original signed)
Board Chair

(original signed)

Associate Superintendent of

Finance